Skip to main content
Crisis Centre

Joyce Foundation Success Awards

The Joyce Foundation is making the dream of post-secondary education a reality.

A donation of $1 million established the Joyce Foundation Success Award and the Joyce Foundation Success Award In Honour of Mike Harris, to support first-year students from Durham Region and Northumberland County attending the university.

Each year, two students are awarded $4,000 bursaries, renewable annually over four years based on set criteria.

Students who receive this award achieved a minimum 75 per cent average in their final year of high school, demonstrated financial need and received a recommendation from their teacher or guidance counsellor. In their first year of study, recipients are invited to participate as mentees in the university’s Student Mentorship program and will be encouraged to act as mentors in subsequent years.

The university is excited to announce this year’s recipients!

  • Gemma Tyner of Brooklin
  • Rebecca Mosaad of Whitby

Gemma Tyner (Forensic Psychology)

Gemma Tyner—a graduate of Brooklin High School—actively participated in a broad range of extracurricular activities while maintaining academic excellence. As an active member in Brooklin’s theatre program and a leader on the Mock Trial Executive Council, she positively contributed to her school community. Gemma is also a member of the Me to We club, raising awareness and fundraising for global social justice and environmental causes. Described as compassionate towards all who meet her, she is dedicated to her studies and maintains a positive outlook on life, no matter the challenges that face her.

Rebecca Mosaad (Health Science)

Rebecca Mosaad—a graduate of Father Leo J. Austin Secondary School—is a born leader in the classroom and community. While in school, Rebecca was a member of the Social Justice Club, Fashion Club and Art Club. She spent her personal time volunteering at her church and local hospital. Dedicated to her education, Rebecca does not let unexpected challenges impact her academics and community involvement. Rebecca is described as a creative and conscientious student who contributes positively to her community.

Past winners include Dawson Fraser (2017), Quinlan Palmer (2017), Kurtis Collins (2016), and Lorena Diaz (2016). As an institution, we thank the Joyce Foundation for their generous donation that has made these awards and student aspirations possible.

University of Ontario Institute of Technology logo