Skip to main content

Major Entrance Scholarship recipients

Major Scholarship recipients 2018-2019

University of Ontario Institute of Technology's 2018 Major Entrance scholarship recipients. Back row (from left): Robert Bailey, PhD, Provost and Vice-President Academic; Erin Mattes; Aiman Quraishi; Hannah Oegema; Steven Murphy, PhD, President and Vice-Chancellor; Cristianna Giallo. Front row (from left): Tessie Pulla-Chin, Courtney Lockhart, Keegan Post.

Each year, seven outstanding incoming students are awarded the university’s most prestigious entrance scholarships. The scholarship program serves to recognize secondary school students with exceptional achievements in academics, leadership and community involvement throughout their high school career.

Major Entrance Scholarships

  • Chancellor’s Scholarship – one valued at $36,000 ($9,000 a year x four years)
  • President’s Scholarship – two valued at $30,000 each ($7,500 a year x four years)
  • Founder’s Scholarship – two valued at $24,000 each ($6,000 a year x four years)
  • FIRST Robotics Canada Scholarship – one valued at $12,000 ($3,000 a year x four years)
  • International Global Leadership Award – one valued at $72,000 ($18,000 a year x four years)

This year’s Chancellor’s Scholarship recipient is Tessie Pulla-Chin (Nursing) of Oshawa. Choosing the university for its small class sizes and various experiential learning opportunities, Tessie is ready to immerse herself in the full university experience.

“This award means being able to go to university without the stress of student debt constantly looming over my head. It also means I will not have to work as many hours during the year which will give me more time to learn and study.”

This year’s President’s Scholarship recipients are Erin Mattes (Forensic Psychology) of Whitby and Cristianna Giallo (Biological Science) of Toronto. Both students chose the university for its innovative learning opportunities and inviting atmosphere.

“Becoming a recipient of the President’s Scholarship is an incredible honour and it means the absolute world to both myself and my family. It means that my university invested in my abilities and made me feel welcomed into their community with open arms.” – Erin

“This will help me accomplish my goal to become a medical officer in the armed forces and serve our country, as I will have been able to attend a university that has provided me with the knowledge I will require in medical school.”- Cristianna

This year’s Founder’s Scholarship recipients are Hannah Oegema (Commerce) of Bowmanville and Courtney Lockhart (Health Science) of Victoria Harbour. Hannah selected the university because she believes it will be the perfect environment to challenge her on the road to success. Courtney chose the university because of its hands-on learning opportunities, small class sizes and advanced technology.

“The environment of the university is based on helping students succeed. Whether it be the great research opportunities or the exciting student life, the university offers much more than I could ever hope for.” – Hannah

“When touring the university, I was very impressed with the community feeling I got from the faculty and current students. I highly value a sense of community and feel that attending a school that offers this will help me thrive.”- Courtney

Rounding out this year’s domestic recipients is our FIRST Robotics Canada Scholarship recipient, Keegan Post (Nuclear Engineering) of Oshawa. Choosing the university for its proximity to home, unique nuclear engineering program, and internship opportunities, Keegan knew this would be the best school to build his career.

“The skills that I will acquire from the university through training programs that have been engineered specifically by local nuclear engineers, will prepare me to be a valuable team player in a new generation of ideas for energy sources.”

This year’s international Global Leadership Award recipient is Aiman Quraishi (Electrical Engineering) of Doha, Qatar. Aiman chose the university for its cutting-edge programs, innovation and commitment to equipping students with the skills needed to succeed in an ever-changing workforce.

“Achieving this scholarship gave me the confidence to take the next step in my academic career, along with providing me with the financial respite to pursue a higher education, as well as validation for all the hard work required to achieve academic excellence.”

Our university is honoured that the scholarships made available to our students are enabling continued success and guiding them to be exceptional in their future. All of our award recipients work hard and their success is recognized through these prestigious awards. We are happy to introduce the major entrance scholarship recipients for the 2018-2019 academic year.

For information on applicant criteria for each award, visit the scholarships web page.






High school

Chancellor’s Scholarship

Tessie Pulla-Chin

Health Sciences



Monsignor Paul Dyer Catholic High School

President’s Scholarship

Erin Mattes

Social Science and Humanities

Forensic Psychology


Sinclair Secondary School

President’s Scholarship

Cristianna Giallo


Biological Science


Bishop Allen Academy

Founder’s Scholarship

Hannah Oegema

Business and Information Technology



Holy Trinity Catholic Secondary School

Founder’s Scholarship

Courtney Lockhart

Health Sciences

Health Science

Victoria Harbour

Georgian Bay District Secondary School

FIRST Robotics Scholarship

Keegan Post

Energy Systems and Nuclear Science

Nuclear Engineering


Eastdale Collegiate and Vocational Institute

Global Leadership Award

Aiman Quraishi

Engineering and Applied Sciences

Electrical Engineering

Doha, Qatar

Ideal Indian School

University of Ontario Institute of Technology logo